Insurance for Uber & Lyft Accidents in New Jersey
New Jersey Insurance Law When the Driver Has a Fare
For car crashes in New Jersey, the general rule is “no fault,” meaning that the injured drivers and passengers have to usually look to their own Personal Injury Protection insurance coverage before recovering compensation from the at-fault party. Also, the injured victim’s ability to recover may depend on their own insurance coverage.
However, this is not the case when the victim is injured in a crash involving a rideshare driver who was, at the time of the crash, transporting a user. In these cases, the injured victim (other than the rideshare driver) can sue the rideshare driver or ridesharing service provider directly for damages. In these cases, there is no verbal threshold limitation on the kinds of injuries that can be recovered.
Usually, ridesharing services must carry at least $1,500,000 in insurance coverage for bodily injury, property damage, and fatality. This provides much greater options for crash victims recovering after being involved in an accident with a rideshare vehicle that was carrying clients or passengers than when involved in a typical car accident in New Jersey.
The driver of the rideshare vehicle who is transporting a passenger must also be provided with $10,000 in medical payment coverage. This is the coverage the ridesharing service provider’s insurer is required to carry to cover injuries suffered by the rideshare driver in the event of a crash. Also, the driver for a rideshare service vehicle is not required to look to his or her own personal injury policy after sustaining injuries while transporting a passenger for the service.
New Jersey Insurance Law When the Driver Is Searching for a Fare
If the rideshare driver is logged into the ridesharing app and searching for a passenger a the time of the accident, then the coverage that is available to the injured victims is considerably different because New Jersey law imposes a lower type of coverage limit in these cases.
When the rideshare driver is searching for a passenger, the liability coverage requirement for the ridesharing service is required to prove at least:
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for death or bodily injury per incident
- and $25,000 for property damage
New Jersey Rideshare Accidents
Those who are injured in a crash involving a rideshare vehicle should consult with an Uber/Lyft crash lawyer in New Jersey immediately in order to better understand their legal options. The legal team at Brady, Brady, & Reilly, LLC is here to help you make sure that your case is treated fairly and that the liable driver is held accountable for his or her actions. We will fight to make sure that you recover the compensation you deserve so that your life can get back on track. Contact our New Jersey rideshare crash attorneys today at (201) 997- 0030 if you or a loved one has been unfairly injured in a crash involving a rideshare driver.